Meet Our New Judges

We’re absolutely thrilled to welcome Ruth Carter (The Telegraph), Miranda Brawn (The Miranda Brawn Diversity Leadership Foundation), Cathy Earle (Nielsen) & Vanessa Vallely (WeAreTheCity) as new judges onto this year’s panel. Our panel of esteemed judges will gather later in the year to undertake the difficult task of whittling down thousands of nominations to create the official National Diversity Awards 2018 shortlist. Nominations are open until June 01st and with 13,000 votes to date, they certainly have a challenge ahead of them.

Judge Ruth Carter, Managing Director at Telegraph Events said, “The importance of diversity cannot be understated and is essential for the future success of The Telegraph. To this end, I am honoured to be joining the judging panel of this year’s National Diversity Awards and I’m excited for the opportunity to celebrate the trailblazers leading the way”.

Vanessa Vallely, previous shortlisted nominee and CEO of We Are The City added, “Having watched the rise of the National Diversity Awards over the past few years, it gives me great pleasure to be one of their judges in 2018.  These awards are so important as they raise the profile of amazing individuals who are working tirelessly for a more equal and inclusive society.  I am so excited to see this year’s nominations and to be part of one of the most respected diversity awards in the UK”.

Also expressing his delight in remaining on the panel was Positive Role Model for Age winner Tunji Akintokun MBE; “The National Diversity Awards continue to be the premier platform for showcasing amazing role models, initiatives and talent across the spectrum of society. With over 10,000 nominations and counting so far, our roles as judges will certainly leave us inspired and encouraged by the beauty that diversity brings. As a previous winner of a National Diversity Awards, I am proud to be a judge for the second successive year”.

London based actor Jake Graf will also play an important role on this year’s panel joining Disability Activist and twice shortlisted nominee Simon Green.

Also remaining on the panel is Roland White (Microsoft), Funke Abimbola (Roche UK) Heather Melville (RBS), Andy Woodfield (PwC), Asif Zubairy (ITV) and Yvonne Thompson CBE.

To find out more about our judges, please visit: